a study in brown...

This is the forum for posting to the June 2010 CM 101 Class
ggroess

Postby ggroess » Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:53 am

What can I say...he's brown...

Make him look better and see if you can hold onto the details...

Greg
Attachments
brownie-jpg
brownie-jpg (999 Bytes) Viewed 9963 times

mikemeister_admin

Postby mikemeister_admin » Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:28 am

1  noise reduc,then shaping the lightness line to separate the critter from the background,kind of a s plus s curve to get highlights to fur on back
2 s curve across narrow spike of sat histogram in HSB.primary color correction
3 MCP freebie hi-def action
4 slight color boost in Lab to make up for transmission losses.GregM
Attachments
brownie-copy-jpg
brownie-copy-jpg (240.76 KiB) Viewed 9963 times

mikemeister_admin

Postby mikemeister_admin » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:57 am

This is my first attempt...

I think that it's a bit heavy handed (on reflection the saturated areas of fur seem a bit too vivid, and the dark area of fur at bottom-right a bit too dark), so I will have another crack at it later on. In any case, here's what I did to this one:

• In Photoshop, I blurred the picture to find an average colour value for the fur (using Lab values I got A: 8, B: 16)

• In CurveMeister, I applied a 'Man from Mars' curve to enhance colour variation (see attached curve file).

• Back in Photoshop I cut back the opacity of this 'Man from Mars' adjustment to 20%.

• Back to CurveMeister to play with the HSB Saturation curve (see attached). I wanted to separate the animal from the background, so I cut back on the background saturation with a 'Low Shoulder' curve.

• Having more-or-less corrected the colour, I applied (in another pass) an S-curve to the L channel - having used the 'Mark' option in the contextual menu.