Thanks Greg....

This is the discussion thread for the September 2010 Class.
mikemeister_admin

Postby mikemeister_admin » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:13 am

Hey there Greg!  I wanted to make one last post to thank you for all that you have done to try and help me understand CM.  I'll never get it, but that's no reflection on your teaching abilities, it's just that I am a beginner and CM is for advanced users.

I see that this is the last week of the class, and what this week is about isn't anything that I'd be interested in, so I decided not to bother with it.  Oversaturation isn't what I am interested in, so this week's class isn't for me. :)

I just wanted to thank you for all of the extra time you've spent trying to help me understand CM.  I do understand a little bit about CM, thanks to you, but I will never understand enough to use CM in any useful workflow.

CM may be a very useful tool for advanced users, but for a beginner, it is still a mystery.  I guess I am too stupid to understand it.  I prefer to use my own methods to work on pictures, and if I get a hard to adjust picture, then I 'll try CM to see if it can help me.  I will always see CM as a last resort when I can't get the results I want with my own methods.  CM is just too complicated for the average user, like myself.  I can see that when I look at the questions that the others here have.  CM is a very difficult program to understand, much less master.

I do think that I have reached my goal of understanding 1% of CM.....that is with the help of you Greg, and I thank you for working extra hard to get me to that point.  I don't see where I can exceed that 1%, but that was the highest goal I was shooting for, so I guess I have achieved that goal.

I always work in RGB, and any other color space is foreign to me.  I'd never use CMYK or whatever it is called, I'd never use HSB, and until now, I'd never use LAB.  I just don't understand them enough to use them.  I'll stick with RGB.