help required with installation

Have an installation or other curvemeister related problem? Ask your question here and it shall be answered.
imported_julie
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:41 am

Postby imported_julie » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:35 am

Hi

I just tried to intall the new version of curvemeister. The install did not work as permissions were denied but unfortunately i had removed the previous version.  I then tried to download the older 3-3.4.1 again.
It wont install correctly and aborts.
I  get message saying acess denied for colour balance. I do not have the rquired permissions
i am running as administrator
I have tried everything I can think of and have nmever had this problem before.
Even when I set a restore point I could not see curvemister in photoshop
I hope you can help

Julie

imported_julie
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:41 am

Postby imported_julie » Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:54 am

Greg,
I have managed to install using my back up program.
Suddenly worth every cent!
Still dont know if I will be able to install the normal way so at the moment I dont dare download the newest version to test for you.
Still have no idea whats happening but I can curve again

Julie

ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:32 am

Julie what permissions did you run up against?  can you screen shot any errors? 
Greg

imported_julie
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:41 am

Postby imported_julie » Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:48 am

Hi
I am reluctant to go through this process again as it took so long to reinstall the older version.
When I tried to download the beta version it uninstalled the current version and tried to install itself.
The denied permissions just came on the screen for a short period and then were gone
N option to get a screen shot
I jotted them down as I attempted to do this again and again

directory colour balance. access denied. you do not have the required privileges

then some other directory. access denied. you do not have the required privileges. 

then installation aborted.

then when I tried to reinstall the older version I could not do that either.
Eventually I found a restore point I could use

it was very frustrating and I am concerned that it may be something with my computer rather than curvemeister as I was unable to install any version and its always been ok before

as far as I could figure out I am the administrator and I did have privileges


ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:33 pm

well this is interesting....

Julie,  what version of Windows are you running?
Greg

imported_julie
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:41 am

Postby imported_julie » Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:36 am

Hi Greg
windows 7 home premium
64 bit system
but 32 bit PS

I have no idea whats going on.

I have just realised I'm not sure if curvemeister is installed.
Its sitting on my desktop but not visible in my list of programs
it is accessable through photoshop
its really weird now

Julie
Attachments
nocurvemeister-jpg
nocurvemeister-jpg (213.51 KiB) Viewed 2941 times

ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:07 am

Julie,
Do a search on the c:drive for:  Curve*.8BF

let's see where CM went?

Greg

ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Sat Sep 29, 2012 3:44 pm

Julie,
I know mike is working on a new version of the Beta to address the installer issues for PSE and 32 bit PS...Hang in there...

Greg

imported_julie
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:41 am

Postby imported_julie » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:48 am

Hi
Greg

here goes. I will try to explain what is happening
I did the search you suggested and there was nothing.
But Curvemeister is sitting on my desktop and several versions are in my downloads.
At the moment I can access curvemeister but...
I have to reinstall pins as txt file every time I open curvemeister
I have no access to the curvemister history
I have no access to the different curves for over exposed, underexposed, different lighting etc.
I am not sure what to do?
should I get rid of every little piece of curvemeister I can find and start again?
Why would I suddenly have this problem?
It happened after trying to install the newer version, has anyone else had this happen.

Thanks for your patience with this one. I have sent a personal email

Julie

ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:02 am

Julie,
do you have PS Elements or just 32 bit Photoshop?
The current build that you have does not support PSE.

If you have elements you may have to wait for Mike.  He is getting a elements version ready and should have something for you later this week.  I'll nudge him.

In the mean time you might want to re-install the last public version for the version of Photoshop you have.

Greg


Return to “Curvemeister Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests