new install won't work - not registered

New versions of Curvemeister, including bug fixes and features, are discussed here.
DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:34 pm

Got a new PC. win10 x64 home, installed Ps cc2018 OK
Copied the CurveMeister 3.8.2 .8bf file from old PC win7; same Ps cc2018 in both (same .8bf location)

CM shows in filter menu, but when I try to use CM, it gives an error note: not registered; try for free does not work; done = kills CM.

So maybe I need to install a better way? Copy/Paste worked fine for the last win7 install.

Should I remove the .8bf and run the .exe installer? or can I register OK an easier way? Is there a newer version or installer for win10?

Doug Schafer

DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:38 pm

Solved my own problem.
Used the .exe installer, input right data, and voila, I'm in business.

Would have tried it this way to start but remembered several years ago had troubles.
But, all is good now in latest ver of windows10 and Ps cc2018.

Happy Camper here again.

Doug

DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:01 pm

I think I have tried all the setup and tools, and all looks good....
except I remember on the curves window display I always had a color/hue box that displayed the current selected point on the curve to show me the colors/numbers. It was always on the very top right of the curves window.

But I can't remember or figure out how to make it display there.
Any suggestions as to the setting to check/mark?

Doug

gregmeister_admin
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby gregmeister_admin » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:26 am

Doug,
Click on the Wrench Icon inside CM and check your settings. A new install will need to be reconfigured.
The display you are looking for is configured there.

Greg
Seeing is more than meets the eye.

Greg Groess
Curvemeister Instructor

DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:13 pm

Thanks Greg, but does not seem to work. Have restarted CM and Ps several times. Have tried turning Hue Clock off, w/wo text; no change.
See attached .jpg screenshots.
I went back to old win7 PC (same 3.8.2 CM ver.) and sure enough the hue clock is there tracking my mouse pointer position to display hue clock and Lab (set that way) color numbers.

Any ideas? or is this a new bug?

Doug
Attachments
win7 has Hue clock display.JPG
no curves hue clock display in upper right.JPG
sample points OK.JPG
sample points OK.JPG (21.97 KiB) Viewed 3364 times
curves display settings.JPG

gregmeister_admin
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby gregmeister_admin » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:57 am

Doug,
Do a search on your C:\ drive for "Curvemeister.8bf"

Let's see if you have multiple copies. You should have at least 2. One in the Photoshop filters folder and one in the Curvemeister folder.

Once you find them check the file size. Your install appears to be corrupted. if you can find both try to copy the one from the Curvemeister folder over the one in the Photoshop folder. if that does not work we can get Mike Russell involved in trouble shooting your install.

I'm tagging him with this thread so he sees your issue.
Greg
Seeing is more than meets the eye.

Greg Groess
Curvemeister Instructor

DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:11 pm

Thanks, out of town traveling but will get to it later this week.

DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:12 pm

Thanks, out of town traveling but will get to it later this week.

DougS
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby DougS » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:44 pm

See attached jpg
Looks like I have an extra version installed? in Ps

Which one is best to disable/remove?

Doug
Attachments
cm38bf files.JPG

gregmeister_admin
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: new install won't work - not registered

Postby gregmeister_admin » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:47 am

The one in the Curvemeister folder is the backup in case you have issues. That is the one you can copy over.

replace the copy found here:
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CC 2018\Required\Plug-ins\Filters

The other copy should be removed.
Let me know if this does not resolve your issue.
Greg
Seeing is more than meets the eye.

Greg Groess
Curvemeister Instructor


Return to “Announcements and New Versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests