Location of CM folder????

This board is for new users looking for some help between the Curvemeister classes.
mikemeister_admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:29 pm

Postby mikemeister_admin » Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:23 am

I recently updated to W7. CM loaded by default to a folder which is parallel to PSE6. When I open PSE6 it does not have CM listed in the Filter section as in the past. It seemed that in the past CM took care of itself and installed in the right place and made the connection to PSE.

1. Should CM be installed inside of PSE. If so which folder?
2. While I'm at it another question. What folder do the "skin" pins reside in.
Thanks Joe S

ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:17 am

CM installs on Win7:  These are from my system...
this is the default install folder.  the (x86) part is due to the 64 bit OS I have.
C:Program Files (x86)Curvemeister.comCurvemeister_3

In PSE the the plugin file Curvemeister.8BF should be placed in:
C:Program Files (x86)AdobePhotoshop Elements 8.0Plug-InsFilters
If it is not there but the install completed correctly you can copy it from the 1st path listed above or search the c: Drive to see where it is copied.

see screen shots below for the win7 pin files location.

Greg

Attachments
screenshot001-jpg-95
screenshot001-jpg-95 (35.42 KiB) Viewed 7886 times
screenshot002-jpg-73
screenshot002-jpg-73 (96.72 KiB) Viewed 7886 times

mikemeister_admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:29 pm

Postby mikemeister_admin » Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:57 am

Greg, looks like I'll have to try the install again. I have a 64 bit system also. It installed in the (x86) folder the same as yours but for some reason PSE does not see it. I also got a warning that some parts of CM may not work properly. Per Mikes recommendation I have installed CM ver 3.0.15. What ver have you installed?
Thanks Joe S

mikemeister_admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:29 pm

Postby mikemeister_admin » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:27 pm

Hi Joe,
I had an email conversation with Mike over Xmas/New Year - I was having the same problem with installing on a Win7 64 bit for use in CS4 64 bit.  Note that I have found no bugs yet in CM/PS 32 bit on a Win 7 64 setup.

Firstly you need to have an extra item for the installer to perform correctly - see this from Mikes email:

"Sorry about the trouble.  I may be repeating myself, but have you installed the Visual C redistributables? 

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=bd2a6171-e2d6-4230-b809-9a8d7548c1b6&displaylang=en

If the above link fails, do a google search for these keywords:
visual c runtime libraries 2008 64 site:Microsoft.com

I'm in the process of refactoring the ocx file so that it is an integral part of Curvemeister, and adding the redistributables to the installer, which should get rid of this particular problem."

Also note this:

"I've made a new release, version 3.0.18, with the expiration date changed to July 1 2010,:
http://curvemeister.com/downloads/cm3_beta/64bit.htm "

So this solved the install problem for me - however I've found that there is still an issue with using History, Favourites etc - for some reason these folders do not install with correct permissions etc and CM will crash (and crash PS as well).

Otherwise CM seem to work fine in PS 64 bit - just don't try to go to History etc.

Brian



ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:51 pm

Also..Just so you know...the 64 bit install does not install in PSE.  PSE is a 32 bit app and you need the 32 bit version of CM installed as well. 

So for 64 bit PS CS4 you need the 64bit plug in and for PSE and 32 bit PSCS4 you need the 32 bit install.  If you are trying to get the 64 bit program to run in PSE you will fail....

Greg

mikemeister_admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:29 pm

Postby mikemeister_admin » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:22 pm

Greg/Brian, I have no immediate need for CM right now. I'm just getting all the programs reinstalled (not fun) after a clean W7 install.  After this spring vacation when I get back with some images I'll see what the status is and go on from there.
Thanks Guys 
Joe S

ggroess
Posts: 5342
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Postby ggroess » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:48 pm

I feel your pain Joe...

I just re-installed Win7 over the first week of January.  I was running the RC 1 version.  It actually fixed quite a few small annoyances for me so hang in there...It turns out good in the end....

Greg


Return to “Help Me! I'm new and I need some help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest